top of page

ACS Experience

The ACS Presidency combines in-society governance roles, as well as significant external roles as a representative and important voice on the national and international levels.  It is this balance of ACS experience, and national and international experience that is critical in the Presidency.

Below is an overview of Angela's ACS experience. 

Member of the following ACS Technical Divisions:

31-Year Member of ACS

ACS Fellow

Physical Chemistry (PHYS)    Computers in Chemistry (COMP)    Inorganic Chemistry (DIC)

Biological Chemistry (BIOL)   Catalysis Science and Technology (CATL)   Chemical Education (CHED)

Energy and Fuels (ENFL)  Environmental Chemistry (ENVR).  Fluorine Chemistry (FLUO)

Organic Chemistry (ORGN)  Medicinal Chemistry (MEDI)   Professional Relations (PROF)

Nuclear Chemistry & Technology (NUCL)

ACS National Roles

  • Budget & Finance Committee, Associate Member, 2019-Present

  • Elected Councilor from the Division of Physical Chemistry (PHYS), 2020-Present

  • ACS Leadership Development Program Facilitator, 2019-Present

  • Elected Councilor from the PHYS Division, 2014-2016*

  • Elected to Council Policy Committee, 2014-2016*

  • A National Awards Selection Committee; Chair (2015), 2013-2015

  • Elected to Committee on Nominations and Elections, Vice Chair (2013), Secretary (2011-2012); 2009-2013

  • Elected Councilor from the Dallas-Fort Worth Local Section, 2005-2013 (moved to PHYS, 2014)

  • Committee on Science (COMSCI), Consultant (2010-2012), Member (2007-2009), Associate Member (2005, 2006);  2005-2012

  • Elected Alternate Councilor from the Dallas-Worth Local Section, 2003-2004


* From 2016-2018, Angela was the Division Director (Head) of the National Science Foundation (NSF) Division of Chemistry, and, during this time, was asked to step away from ACS roles.

ACS Dallas-Fort Worth Section

  • Dallas-Ft. Worth ACS Awards Committee, 2015-2016

  • Councilor, 2005-2013

  • Executive Committee, Dallas-Ft. Worth Section of ACS, Member,  2003-2013

  • Organizer, DFW-ACS Meeting-in-Miniature, 2009

  • Alternative Councilor, 2003, 2004

ACS Physical Chemistry Division

  • Councilor,  2020-Present

  • Executive Committee, Division of Physical Chemistry, Member, 2020-Present

  • Division of Physical Chemistry Award Selection Committee, 2015

  • Executive Committee, Division of Physical Chemistry, Member, 2010-2016


ACS Division of Computers in Chemistry

  • Reviewer for prizes/awards


Oklahoma Section

  • Chair-Elect, Oklahoma Section of ACS, 2000  (served until move to Texas)

  • Started and sponsored an ACS Student Chapter at OBU


Other ACS Activities

  • Editor of two ACS Symposium Series books; one was in collaboration between the Divisions of History, Physical Chemistry, and Computers in Chemistry.

  • Editorial Advisory Board, Journal of Physical Chemistry, 2010-2012; Guest Editor, 2007 

  • Organizer for 14 ACS Symposia at regional, national, and international meetings

  • ACS webinar series presenter

  • ACS Global Research Experiences, Exchanges and Training (GREET) participant

  • Project SEED mentor

  • Guest speaker at many local section meetings


Angela received the ACS 2015 Francis P. Garvan-John M. Olin Medal which recognizes distinguished scientific accomplishment, leadership, and service to chemistry by women chemists.

bottom of page