top of page


Engagement at the international level is an important role of the ACS president.  Angela has significant international experience which includes:

  • IUPAC leadership

  • Meetings with key stakeholders internationally, e.g., Angela led an NSF delegation in meetings with the Cuban Minister of Higher Education and the Vice Minister of Science, Technology, and Environment, and their staff during a visit to Cuba.   

  • As part of an IUPAC activity, she has engaged with legislators in Puerto Rico.  

  • On the international scientific committee or organizing group of over 30 international conferences.

  • U.S. Chair (2006) and Organizing Committee Member (2005) of the National Academies’ Chinese-American Frontiers of Science program.

  • Deutscher Akademischer Austauschdienst German Academic Exchange Service (DAAD) Science Tour to visit energy companies, governement laboratories, and universities across Germany.

  • As NSF Division Director, significant interactions with international funders.

  • Leads an international recognition program for women chemical scientists, the IUPAC Distinguished Women in Chemistry or Chemical Engineering award. 

  • Visiting Professor, University of Sydney, Sydney, Australia, 2003

  • Visiting Professor, Université de Toulouse, Toulouse, France (sponsored by the ACS Committee on International Activities via their GREET program), 2009

  • Has served as editor or as an editorial board or editorial advisory board member for over ten international  journals.


 Pictured here is the inaugural IUPAC Interdivisional Subcommittee on Materials Chemistry, a group formed to focus on international standards for materials chemistry.  (ACS members in the committee include Chris Ober, Cornell University, and Leonard Interrante, founder and former Editor-in-Chief of ACS Chemistry of Materials.


Co-organizer of  an international recognition program for women chemists and chemical engineers. Pictured with the 2017 awardees (São Paulo, Brazil) including Ingrid Montes-González, University of Puerto Rico, Jacqueline Kiblinger, Low Alamos National Laboratory, and co-organizer Caroline Ribes, Dow Chemical Company.  

bottom of page