top of page


A breadth of leadership experience including:

ACS Experience

Listing available via the ACS Experience Link.


Michigan State University

  • Associate Dean for Strategic Initiatives, 2020-

  • Director, MSU Center for Quantum Computing, Science, and Engineering, 2019-

National Science Foundation

  • Division Director (Head), Division of Chemistry, 2016-2018​​

       (U.S. Senior Executive Service (SES))

University of North Texas

  • Associate Vice Provost for Faculty, 2015-2016

  • Director, Center for Advanced Scientific Computing and Modeling, 2005-2016

  • Graduate Program Advisor, Department of Chemistry, 2006-2015

  • Program Director, NSF Research Experiences for Undergraduates (REU) in Chemistry at UNT, 2003-2016​

Other Society Leadership

In addition to ACS leadership experience:

American Association for the Advancement of Science

  • Chair, Chemistry Section, 2020

  • Chair-Elect, Chemistry Section, 2019

  • AAAS Fellow Nomination Committee (Chemistry), 2019-

International Union of Pure and Applied Chemistry

  • IUPAC Bureau (IUPAC international leadership board), 2016-2017

  • Division I – Division of Physical and Biophysical Chemistry

    • Titular Member (elected), 2010-Present

    • Past President, 2018-2019

    • President, 2016-2017

    • Vice-President, 2014-2015

    • Secretary, 2012-2013

    • Associate Member, 2005-2009

  • Subcommittee on Materials Chemistry

    • Member (a founding member), 2009-2015 


American Physical Society

  • A National Awards Committee, 2015-2016

  • Division of Computational Physics

    • Nominating Committee Member, 2011-2013

    • Nominating Committee Chair, 2012-2013

    • Member-at-Large (elected), 2008-2011

Additional Leadership

A number of examples . . . 

National Academy of Science

  • U.S. National Committee for IUPAC

    • Ex Officia Member, 2018-​

    • Member 2007-2016

    • Chair, 2014-2015

    • Vice-Chair, 2012-2013

  • Chinese-American Frontiers of Science

    • U.S. Chair, 2006​

  • Chemical Sciences Roundtable

Gordon Research Conference on Computational Chemistry

  • Chair, 2018

  • Vice Chair, 2016

Angela has had many leadership roles as a journal editor/guest editor, conference and symposium organizer, on journal, conference, and public (national, state) advisory boards, on review teams (international and national proposals, programs, organizations, departments) . . .     



Angela pictured at the Center for Advanced Scientific Computing and Modeling (CASCaM), a center that she founded, and directed, in partnership with Tom Cundari while at the University of North Texas.

"Having served with Angela Wilson at NSF, I know her to be an enthusiastic and effective voice for Chemistry. Her commitment to research, education, and National service have provided Angela with a broad, deep perspective on science, and she is well-positioned to be a leader for the ACS as our community faces the tremendous opportunities and challenges that are sure to rise in the coming years. I will certainly be supporting her this fall."

Kevin MoellerProfessor

Washington University, St. Louis

2020 Arthur C. Cope Scholar Awardee

Former NSF Program Officer

bottom of page