top of page


Professional Experience

Michigan State University

John A. Hannah Distinguished Professor, Department of Chemistry, 2016-Present

Associate Dean for Strategic Initiatives, 2020-Present

Director, MSU Center for Quantum Computing, Science, and Engineering, 2019-Present

National Science Foundation

Division Director (Head), Division of Chemistry, 2016-2018

University of North Texas

Associate Vice Provost for Faculty, 2015-2016

Regents Professor, Department of Chemistry, 2011-2016

Professor, 2009-2011

Associate Professor, 2005-2009

Assistant Professor, 2000-2005

University of Oklahoma, Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry

Adjunct Assistant Professor (Research), 1999-2000

Research Scientist, 1998-1999

Oklahoma Baptist University, Department of Mathematics and Sciences

Assistant Professor, 1999-2000

Adjunct Professor, 1997-1998

Education and Training

B.S., 1990, Chemistry, Eastern Washington University, Cheney, WA

Ph.D., 1995, Chemical Physics, University of Minnesota, Minneapolis, MN 

Postdoctoral Fellowship,  Pacific Northwest National Laboratory, Richland, WA

Big Ten Academic Alliance Leadership Program (ALP), 2019-2020

State of Michigan Legislative Leadership Program, 2018

American Council on Education (ACE) National Women's Leadership Forum, 2016

Federal government Senior Executive Service leadership training programs, 2016-2018

Harvard Institute for Higher Education, Institute for Management and Leadership in Education, 2012

Leadership Texas, 2003


Publications, Presentations

> 160 publications (listing available via Google Scholar citations)

> 170 invited presentations; > 550 presentations with research group


Honors and Awards

External awards/recognition:                                             

  • Outstanding Achievement Award, University of Minnesota, 2020

  • Karton-Barton Lecturer, University of Oklahoma, 2019

  • Robert S. Mulliken Lecturer, University of Georgia, 2019

  • Michigan Women's Hall of Fame, 2018

  • Francis P. Garvan-John M. Olin Medal, American Chemical Society (ACS), 2015

  • Wilfred T. Doherty Award, Dallas-Ft. Worth Section of the American Chemical Society, 2014

  • Fellow, American Physical Society, 2013

  • International Union of Pure and Applied Chemistry (IUPAC) Distinguished Woman in Chemistry, 2013

  • Fellow, American Association for the Advancement of Science, 2012

  • Fellow, American Chemical Society, 2010

  • QSCP Promising Scientist Award of Centre de Mécanique Ondulatoire Appliquée, 2010

  • National Associate of the U.S. National Academies, 2007 (given for “extraordinary service to the National Research Council in its role as advisor to the Nation in matters of science, engineering, and health”)

  • Finalist, Emerging Technology Award, Division of Computers in Chemistry, ACS, 2007 

  • National Science Foundation CAREER Award, 2003 

  • Wiley International Journal of Quantum Chemistry Young Investigator Award, 2003 


University of North Texas awards:

Eminent Scholar Award (the top UNT faculty award), 2015; Decker Scholar, 2013-15; Foundation Leadership Award, 2013; Inaugural Distinguished Lecturer, 2012; Research Leadership Award, 2011; Research-Scholar Award, 2009; Toulouse Scholars Award, 2009


Other honors:

  • National Academies/IUPAC General Assembly U.S. Delegate, 2009,2011,2013,2015,2019; Chair, U.S. Delegation, 2013, 2015

  • Honored by the Journal of Physical Chemistry in their collection in celebration of the 150th birthday of Marie Curie, 2017

  • Included in “Trailblazers of North American Research” issue of International Innovation, 9/2012

  • U.S. Chair, National Academies’ Chinese-American Frontiers of Science Program, 2006        

  • Eastern Washington University Alumni Achievement Award, 2006 

  • National Academy of Sciences’ IUPAC Young Observer, 2003, 2005 

  • National Science Foundation POWRE Award, 1999



  • American Chemical Society

  • ACS Divisions:  Physical Chemistry, Computers in Chemistry, Inorganic Chemistry, Organic Chemistry, Biological Chemistry, Catalysis Science and Technology, Energy and Fuels, Environmental Chemistry, Fluorine Chemistry, Medicinal Chemistry, Nuclear Chemistry & Technology, Professional Relations

  • American Association for the Advancement of Science

  • American Physical Society

  • International Union of Pure and Applied Chemistry (IUPAC)

  • Sigma Xi

  • Iota Sigma Pi

  • Girl Scout, Gold Awardee and Lifetime Member

bottom of page